jump to navigation

A Trader in Our Midst…Music Monday – 5 pack August 20, 2007

Posted by thebigswede in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hi. About three weeks ago I officially traded in my life of freedom for something a little more…steady. I’ve been working at a local specialty food retailer named Trader Joes, in Bellevue. This has given me the opportunity to begin paying back money that I owe from an amazing, yet expensive, year in Sweden. It also helps immensely with rent which I will start paying once Mark and I move in together on the 4th of September. I can’t wait! The above picture is myself with two good co-working friends, Adam and Annette. I love my fellow traders. Come on in and I’ll give you a 10% discount or a free sample, I promise.

I went through about two dozen great songs this week and could have easily posted any 10 of them today. So much good music, way too few Mondays. Lets get started.

Normally I hate songs that get too much play on radio and MTV. It just isn’t me. But this first selection sort of falls into this category. Personally I think its a fluke that a majority has recognized a good song, but in this case it has happened. Good lyrics, a heart-felt voice, and a creative video that reminds me in some ways of my time in Sweden. You might have to listen a few times to fully get it.

“A thousand miles seems pretty far, But they’ve got planes and trains and cars, I’d walk to you if I had no other way, Our friends would all make fun of us, And we’ll just laugh along because, We know that none of them have felt this way, Delilah I can promise you, That by the time that we get through, The world will never ever be the same, And you’re to blame.”

I wish I had written this song.

A look now to a band that was completely unknown to me before a few months ago. Placebo has apparently been around forever, somewhat under the radar, at least in the States. This is not a band for everyone. Iconoclastic, mysterious and epic in their creativity, Placebo’s songs frequently exude love loss, depression, suicide, drug use and other lovely themes. Since Placebo will be new to some of you, I want to play two great songs that have been in my head this week. “Twenty Years” is first.

“Centrefolds” is filled with dazzling dissonance, haunting vocals and dark beauty. You know a band is good when their live set is better then the recorded one.

If you liked either of these, you owe it to yourself to check out two more excellent songs by Placebo, on your own time:

Enough of that.

On to a local Seattle band which is very unknown but gaining some cred. This is Band of Horses with “The Funeral”.

If I played in a rock band, I would want it to be Muse. They are melodically rich, lyrically complex and super passionate. Oh, and they know how to rock. I cannot wait to see them in September in Seattle, they are going to bring the roof down. Enjoy this great selection from their latest offering, Black Holes and Revelations. Crank up the volume. This is “Starlight”.

Abandon all your hopes and expectations. They are black holes and revelations. Close your eyes and just breathe. Its time to move on.

Comments»

1. marcovinicio - August 20, 2007

You continue to deliver with your Monday music trend–may it ever continue! Can’t wait to check out the new work place as well.

Peace,
marcov

2. Yusef - August 20, 2007

ding! ding! ding! ding! price check on a 3-layer hummos.


Leave a Reply

