jump to navigation

A melancholy Tuesday May 15, 2007

Posted by thebigswede in Uncategorized.
trackback

In medicine people live and people die. Death is sort of a part of the job, something you see on a regular basis, something you ultimately become numb to. During my years of volunteer work I’ve seen people crawl from the pit of certain death, with seemingly no medical explanation behind it. Miraculous really. On the flip side, I’ve seen perfectly healthy individuals rapidly degenerate into nothingness, ultimately dying from seemingly unknown causes. Its curious, its tragic, it makes you wonder sometimes. So today I decided to wonder. I’m convinced that it comes down to love. It comes down to a choice. It comes down to holding on to a reason for living. Seriously. Whats your reason for living? Maybe you haven’t thought about it in a long time. Start. In biology, we learn that every species of organism has need of two essential things: 1. a source of energy (i.e. food) to live and 2. a means to reproduce (pass on genes to the next generation). The bird you hear chirping annoyingly outside, the spider you just squished, the bacteria living in your stomach are programed to “think of”, and live for two things: food and sex. I imagine (and hope) that your reasons for living are a little more complex and refined. My point is I think its often too easy to rush through life without taking time to stop and examine. You get busy with school, with your career, with responsibilities or even with trivial pursuits. Often it takes gut-wrenching, life-changing, heart-breaking pain to wake you up to the most important and fundamental questions in life. But not always. Sometimes it just takes a casual reminder from a friend, one who cares a great deal about you. Don’t blow this off; its an important part what makes you who you are, whether you are aware of it or not. So I’ll ask you again, what is your reason for living?

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.”

(1 Corinthians 13 : 1-8)

Comments»

1. marcovinicio - May 17, 2007

well put I feel. This must be a topic we discuss at greater length.


Leave a Reply

