jump to navigation

Dalarna May 7, 2007

Posted by thebigswede in Uncategorized.
trackback

This last weekend my friends Ryan and Megan asked if I would like to accompany them to the center of Sweden, the heartland itself, to Dalarna. This area was home to many of Sweden’s most important sons: Engelbrekt Engelbrektsson, King Gustav Vasa, Carl Larsson and many others. Dalarna is also the home of Sweden’s most iconic hand-craft, the Dala Horse. Up top you see me hugging a massive one in Arvesta. Jag älskar alla Dala Hästarna.

Woot! You ride that horse cowboy. So it happened that we rented a car and drove all over the place in central Sweden. Leksand, Mora, Rättvik, Falun, Sundborn, Gävle and many many more. The things we did and places we saw…lets just say it would take days for me to write it all out. And honestly I’m becoming more and more disenchanted with the whole idea of blogging. It takes a lot of time to write quality, and I’m not sure anyone cares (besides me) all that much. So instead of going into the usual gross detail I’ll just leave you with some highlight pictures which should speak thousands of words by themselves anyway. I’ll let you use your imagination as to what we did, its more fun that way anyway. Enjoy.

(Above: Only in Sweden can you find a no-cross-country-skiiing sign, *laugh*)

(Above: Finish line of the world-famous ski race, the Vasalopet, in Mora)

That last picture is one of my favorites, taken at the home of artist Carl Larsson, whose art I just adore. Honestly in that entire area it just felt like you were entering a fairy tale, and that everything was right in the world. If I lived in such a place of unspoiled beauty and quiet I could see myself never leaving again. Dalarna, you are spectacular, I’ll be back soon.

Comments»

1. David Aaron Engle - May 8, 2007

Hey Mike, yes I remember that moment too, quite a moment it was. I’m going to be home on May 27th. Stephanie is getting baptized at Mars Hill and I want to be there for that. It will probably take me a few days to recover, the last few weeks here in the city are going to be packed for me, but I’m looking forward to seeing you too. When are you going to be back?

2. Mela - May 8, 2007

Damn, I´m only 2nd – again 😦 . But anyway I want to see that huge Dalarna-häst as well, looks fantastic!

3. J.Skaff - May 10, 2007

Swedes and their horses….


Leave a Reply

