jump to navigation

Turning a new page in Sweden – 22! January 28, 2007

Posted by thebigswede in Uncategorized.
trackback

Its been snowing a lot out! But I love it. Always have. Maybe its because it doesn’t snow very much at all, ever in Seattle. Maybe its because I was born in Minnesota in the middle of winter and the first time my eyes beheld the world it was covered in snow. I have no idea. Snow makes everything white, makes everything feel clean. Snow reminds me that Christ died to make our sins forgiven, “as white as snow”. In any case I have enjoyed walking around and taking pictures, a few of which I give to you here. Did your dad every tug you around on a sled through the snow? Good memories.


I turned 22 today. Exciting! My first birthday in a foreign land. I was doing some thinking about it and 22, I’ve decided, is a strange age. When you are growing up there are so many “big” birthdays, 16, 18, 21 and such. I had long decided that 21 was the penultimate age, I mean what could be better? You are old enough to do just about everything you need/want to do, and yet you are still exremely young and the future is bright. Not that those things don’t apply after 22…its just…22 is not 21. Get my point? Good! Anyway I thought the day would go pretty normally like most days go around Uppsala and that would be that. I was quite suprised when a few of my friends around the corridor told me they had a little party planned for me in the evening. Awsome! And so we had a little party with those around and chatted (mostly in Swedish) for the better part of the evening. The cake was some kind of meringue with toffee and cream, very tasty. We also had kanelbullar (cinnamen buns) which is always good and traditional. I’d like to thank Petra and Håkan for arranging the whole thing – you guys seriously made my week. Heres some pictures of us.

Really a great time. I started my history class last friday and it seems like it will be very educational. I’ve had different specialized classes on Swedish history before but nothing like a grand overview, which this class promises to be. Since the class length is so short everything is going to be fast paced and I already have my final paper due in one month. Hopefully with all the work coming up I will still find time to make Germany a reality, as well as a few other side trips that I’ve planned. We will see. Thanks for your emails, birthday cards, comments, and most importantly your prayers. I love each and everyone of you. Twenty-one was a great year and I’m looking forward to everything to come. God bless.

Comments»

1. Uncle Steve (Stephen Larson) in Chicago - January 29, 2007

It’s the day after in Sweden; but in Chicago it’s still your 22nd Birthday, Michael! Happy Birthday! Hope you’ve had a fine celebration of your special day in your ancestral homeland.
Thanks for cranking up the blog again!
Peace, Joy and Love,
Uncle Steve and Aunt Becki


Leave a Reply

